personal site and images from Rob

Line of the Bridge

Another shot from the early morning shoot last week.  From the same location of the “Green Pool in the Morning” picture.  I used a processing technique shared earlier today on Scott Wyden‘s blog – a guest post by Rob Hanson.  The post from Scott’s blog can be found here.  The other post on Rob’s blog can be found here.  Both offer a wealth of information – both original and shared – from their Twitter accounts: @scottwyden and @robhansonphoto.

Line of the Bridge

Nikon D700, Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8, 40mm, f/11, 4 exposure HDR, ISO 100

5 responses

  1. Very nice! I’m glad you found the technique useful. It seems very effective in this image because of the strong contrast between the white snow and the darker pavement and bridge.

    Cheers!

    February 1, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    • Thank-you! I certainly appreciate the comment. I did try it on another image, but there was a lack of contrast and depth in the final result. I am eager to try it on a few past images as well. Thanks for stopping by and taking a look!

      February 1, 2011 at 9:44 pm

  2. My pleasure.

    Be sure to play around with both blend modes and opacity of the B&W layer. For some images, it’s just not terribly effective, but when it works, I find that it works very well, and I incorporate the shadowmap into at least 75% of my images. The more contrast and hard edges you have, the better it seems to work.

    Have fun, and let me know if I can help with anything. //Rob

    February 1, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  3. Nice job Rob. Glad that Rob Hanson’s tip was useful for you 🙂

    February 2, 2011 at 6:51 am

  4. Love the balance in this shot, the snow, the road and the sweet colors of the sunset.. 🙂 Great my friend… 🙂

    February 2, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

